They Called Her Mrs. Doc – Women of the West #5

The only daughter of a noted Montreal physician and educator, Cassandra Dell Winston enjoys all the opportunities of eastern society and affluence. She has never dreamed of any other life.

Then a serious and conscientious young doctor begins coming to dinner, turning her world upside down.

As Mrs. Samuel Smith, Cassandra agrees to move with her husband to the frontier. But nothing has prepared her for the difficulties of life out west. Dare she pray that the move is only temporary and they will soon return to the city? Will she ever be able to embrace life as “Mrs. Doc”?

Author: Janette Oke


A Woman Named Damaris – Women of the West #4

Damaris Withers can’t remember a time when her father didn’t drink and become violent with her and her mother. As awful as her daily life is, Damaris has accepted it. Then one day, her mother gives her two family heirlooms, urging her to run away from their farm and her abusive father.

Soon after, Damaris complies, heading West on foot with the barest of supplies. Tired and hungry, she eventually lands in a small town where she overhears people talking about a wagon train hoping to settle new towns further out West. Damaris manages to negotiate her way into the group, landing in a place where she must work three jobs to survive.

But before she realizes it, Damaris has made some solid new friends – the town seamstress, an orphaned young rancher, and Jesus Christ. Never having known anything about religion, Damaris decides to read the entire Bible cover to cover, much like the novels she loves. Before long Damaris understands that God has a plan for her, and it includes forgiving her father for the past in order to fully embark into the future.

Author: Janette Oke


Julia’s Last Hope – Women of the West #2

The only thing she has left is her faith in God. . . . Is it enough?

With the closing of the Calder Springs’ timber mill, most of the town’s residents are left unemployed. Several families, realizing the lack of a future in the small mountain town, soon decide to relocate.

But not the Harrigan family. Although John has lost his job at the mill, he and his wife, Julia, make the decision to stay in their beautiful home with their twin daughters. Eastern-educated Julia searches for a way to bring business and people back to Calder Springs–a task she feels God leading her to accomplish. Will her faith and determination carry her through the challenges and setbacks she’ll face?

Author: Janette Oke


The Calling of Emily Evans – Women of the West #1

Emily Evans has a hard time getting herself to class on time, much less figuring out God’s will for her life. Then, to her surprise, she feels that God is calling her into full-time Christian service. She expects the Lord will also provide her with a companion to share her life and ministry, but Emily does not want to marry any of the available young men. She squares her shoulders and decides she will accept the task of opening a new church in a pioneer community–alone.

When Emily arrives at her new assignment, she is disappointed to find the church building in disrepair. After many days of hard work fixing it up, she announces her first service and is once again disappointed, this time in the size of her congregation. Is her faith strong enough to stand against the local doubters and myriad challenges that will test her calling?

Author: Janette Oke


Spring’s Gentle Promise – Seasons of the Heart #4

Seasons of the Heart Book 4. Readers will laugh and cry as they follow the story of Josh Jones, an orphan growing up during the Great Depression. Eighteen-year-old Auntie Lou is the only mother Josh has ever known. When his grandfather and uncle start talking about finding a husband for his aunt, he knows something has to be done! As he grows to manhood through disappointment and tragedy, triumph and joy, Josh learns to trust God no matter what life brings.

Author: Janette Oke


Love’s Unfolding Dream – Love Comes Softly #6

Belinda, Marty and Clark Davis’s “surprise child,” has always had a tender and compassionate heart toward anything hurt and broken. Her parents watch with both misgivings and genuine pride as Belinda’s older brother, Doctor Luke, influences her toward nursing. Will she have the inward strength to face the “hurt and broken” people whose bodies, minds, and emotions need mending? Belinda’s niece, who is also a teenager, comes to live with the Davis family to finish her schooling. How will Melissa’s arrival affect Belinda’s lifelong friendship with Amy Jo? And what happens when all three fall for the same nice fellow?

Author: Janette Oke